I Am Now 4% Fluent in Spanish

I have a lot of downtime offshore with my job. I usually keep myself busy by watching TV shows and movies that I bring out on hard drives, but 12 hours a day to fill in with busy work can be hard. Other things that keep me busy are comic art, reading, researching and, lately, Spanish lessons.

One of the great things about having a computer in your pocket is the amount of information you have access to. DuoLingo is a language-learning app that I have been using to learn Spanish over the last 2 months. With the exception of a few days here and there, I have been consistently using it. It’s free to download and to use and has lessons for over 20 languages.

My last trip home I noticed that I am recognizing signs in Spanish and understanding Spanish conversations around me. I know I have a long way to go to be fluent, but it’s keeping my attention. Moving to a Spanish speaking country is motivating. I know that I will struggle to make deals and meet new people without learning the native tongue. Also, having the basics will make things easier once I get to Medellin. Being immersed in the culture there will help me learn faster.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

